Delf, from the word “delve” meaning to quarry.
The Green Moor Delf is some 10.5 acres of ex quarry. It was bought in about 1956 by the parish council for £400. While originally the Delf Quarry had deep holes, steps to wells, cottages and access roads (the old access to the homes known as “New Houses” which date back to the 1860’s or so, was through the quarry) nowadays it is used for recreation.
The only flat field in the parish lies at the end nearest Green Moor Road. This is used for general recreation and the occasional fete. The rest of The Delf is woodland with a patch of heather and is used for walking.
Volunteers work to keep the trees and other vegetation under control